Leave a comment

Focus

camera focusSorry I’ve been away for a while. I’m still getting used to blogging regularly!

To be honest, I’m getting used to writing regularly in general. In the past, I was a “mood writer,” writing only when the fancy struck me.

This resulted in lots of half-finished stories I never seemed to be in the mood to return to, as there was always some other story I was burning to work on.

So, these past few months have been an exercise in keeping my butt in my seat and my fingers on the keyboard, to stay focused. It’s still challenging, but it gets easier the more I work at it.

Last week was a “research and development” week, where I spent the majority of my time outlining and researching a new novella-length work. It’s not nearly as exciting as the writing, but I’ve learned the hard way that I *need* an outline — even a sparse one– to keep me writing smoothly.

I’ve also been doing a little recon into the market, as, really, I’m a pretty new kid on the block. I’ve been dabbling in the m/m waters a bit, finding out what I like and what I don’t. My Under the Desert Sky co-contributor Josephine Myles has been kind enough to recc some titles to me, and I’m still working my way through them.

Speaking of Jo, I also have to give her a hearty “thank you” for her kind words about my story on her blog. If you haven’t checked out her blog already, stop by and give it a read. Her “Trope Tuesdays” and “BritSpeak Thursdays” posts are some of my favorites.

A’ight. Time to get some real writing done. Next time I post I should have some exciting news to share…



Leave a Reply

